We often get questions on the student attendance policy and want to provide the attendance policy of Colorado Department of Education (CDE), Denver Public Schools (DPS) and East High School (EHS). All absences greater than 5 days WILL require medical documentation to support the absence. This is critical to determine if any medical support is needed upon return to school. Documentation can be emailed to: email@example.com
DPS Attendance Policy If a student is absent without an excuse signed by the parent/guardian or if the student leaves school or a class without permission of the teacher or administrator in charge, the student shall be considered truant. “Habitually Truant” shall be defined as a student of compulsory attendance age who has four total days of unexcused absences from school in any one month or 10 total days of unexcused absences during any school year.
The Colorado School Attendance Law C.R.S. 3.02 (2) (b) states: If authorized school officials determine that the parent’s excuse is not valid or verified, the absence shall be unexcused.
East High School Attendance Policy is consistent with both State and District policies.
Although the pandemic may seem behind us, COVID-19 is not gone entirely from Denver and we are seeing a spike in the number of individual testing positive. The DPS policy for students and staff who test positive for COVID-19 is that you should be isolated by staying home for five days and wearing a mask around other family members.
Day zero is the day you start having symptoms OR the day you test positive. If your symptoms are not improving and/or you have a fever on day five – you must continue to isolate until day 10.
Those who test positive MAY END isolation and return to school or work on day five if:
As we head into the new school year, the health of our DPS community remains our top priority. Returning to indoor environments among other people inherently presents a risk for transmission of any disease and general masking for those at risk is recommended.
Norovirus Cases Increasing
The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) and local public health agencies (LPHAs) have noted an increase in reports of gastrointestinal illness that is consistent with norovirus (vomiting and/or diarrhea lasting 1-2 days) in group settings around the state, including schools and child care facilities.
If your child meets 2 of the symptom criteria parents will be notified to pick-up your child to prevent the spread of possible infection to others. Your child should remain home until free of all symptoms.
For more information on Norovirus and guidelines click on the link below: